You don’t own me

As we may or not know, women during the last century ,were viewed mainly as two things: mother and sexual object. And while most medium didn’t help to change the way women were portrayed as we can see with the good old ads. Music industry was one of the best way to advertise and help women rights.

You don’t own me is one fine example; wrote by the songwriters John Madara and David White and sung by Lesley Gore.

leslie-gore-600

Lesley Sue Glodstein mostly known as ” Lesley Gore”

 

This song attacks the objectification of women by the society and in this this case by her partner. By singing “you don’t own me” “don’t try to change me” or even “don’t tell me what to do” the narrator of this song is standing her up against her controlling and by what we can read possessive boyfriend/partner. You don’t own me was recorded in 1973 and stood up from the mass of songs portraying women and girls as “boys-crazy damsel in distress” (name from the Slate). It truly became an anthem for women empowerment and a stepping stone for the next generation of singer.

More recently it was used in 2012 in a video to encourage people and mostly women to vote for the presidential election and a rendition by Grace Sewell in 2015 in honour after Lesley Gore death.

 

grace-sewell

Grace Sewell

 

 

Lyrics :

You don’t own me
I’m not just one of your many toys
You don’t own me
Don’t say I can’t go with other boys

And don’t tell me what to do
Don’t tell me what to say
And please, when I go out with you
Don’t put me on display ’cause

You don’t own me
Don’t try to change me in any way
You don’t own me
Don’t tie me down ’cause I’d never stay

I don’t tell you what to say
I don’t tell you what to do
So just let me be myself
That’s all I ask of you

I’m young and I love to be young
I’m free and I love to be free
To live my life the way I want
To say and do whatever I please

And don’t tell me what to do
Oh, don’t tell me what to say
And please, when I go out with you
Don’t put me on display

I don’t tell you what to say
Oh, don’t tell you what to do
So just let me be myself
That’s all I ask of you

I’m young and I love to be young
I’m free and I love to be free
To live

You can listen to the two version of the song here:

Grace – You Don’t Own Me ft. G-Eazy

Lesley Gore – You Don’t Own Me (HD)

 

 

Leave a Reply

